Wednesday, March 11, 2020

On My Radar: Elly Griffiths' The Postscript Murders




I know that many of you are fans of Elly Griffiths, especially of her Dr. Ruth Galloway mystery series which I think is superb (and I don't sling that adjective around lightly). When I saw Griffiths posting a cover reveal on her Instagram account, I must admit to a rather boisterous "Yippee!"-- which, since I was in the lymphedema clinic at the time, led to some questions.

She's written another standalone novel that's due out in the UK in October, and I've already pre-ordered it. (I just can't wait for the US editions of her books.) Let me tell you more about it!


Available in the UK on October 1, 2020
Synopsis:

"PS: Thanks for the murders.

The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka's account of Peggy Smith's death. 

But when Natalka reveals that Peggy lied about her heart condition and that she had been sure someone was following her...

And that Peggy Smith had been a 'murder consultant' who plotted deaths for authors, and knew more about murder than anyone has any right to...
And when clearing out Peggy's flat ends in Natalka being held at gunpoint by a masked figure...

Well then DS Harbinder Kaur thinks that maybe there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

From the sleepy seaside town of Shoreham to the granite streets of Aberdeen and the shores of Lake Baikal, The Postscript Murders is a literary mystery for fans of Antony Horowitz, Agatha Christie and anyone who's ever wondered just how authors think up such realistic crimes...

PS: Trust no one."


Sounds like a good'un, doesn't it? I can't wait to get my hands on it, that's for sure!


14 comments:

  1. Oh, this does look good! I like Griffiths' work very much, too, Cathy, so I just know this is going to be excellent. I wonder if this is a standalone or the beginning of a new series...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good question. It has a character from The Stranger Diaries, so I don't know if she's starting another series or just wasn't done with that particular character.

      Delete
  2. I would have yelled 'Yippee' too! Can't wait!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the heads up! I loved The Stranger Diaries.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I was hoping for more DS Harbinder Kaur. She was great in The Stranger Diaries!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's good to see that Griffiths wasn't done with that character.

      Delete
  5. Sounds terrific! Which reminds me I must get around to Stranger Diaries.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is excellent news! I 'saved' reading today's post until bedtime (I'm on the East Coast), to end the day with a smile :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yippee, too! So glad to read about this new book. Elly Griffiths' imagination is amazing. (Explaining why you cheered at a new book in a medical clinic must have been fun.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fortunately, I was the only patient in the clinic and the only person in the room with me was my fellow mystery lover. She'd never read Elly Griffiths (!!) so I added another author to her Must Read list.

      Delete

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment. I really appreciate it!