Sunday, July 26, 2020

Win an Autographed Copy of Heather Young's The Distant Dead!



A couple of weeks ago, I reviewed Heather Young's excellent The Distant Dead, which became a book on my Best Reads of 2020 list. Now you have the chance to win my (very gently read) autographed copy. Here's more about the book:


"A People magazine Best Book of Summer | A Parade Best Book of Summer

A Crime Reads Most Anticipated Book of Summer

“[A] second stunning piece of redemptive fiction… An ideal recommendation for fans of Kate Atkinson and Jodi Picoult.” – Booklist, Starred Review


A body burns in the high desert hills. A boy walks into a fire station, pale with the shock of a grisly discovery. A middle school teacher worries when her colleague is late for work. By day’s end, when the body is identified as local math teacher Adam Merkel, a small Nevada town will be rocked to its core by a brutal and calculated murder.   

Adam Merkel left a university professorship in Reno to teach middle school in Lovelock seven months before he died. A quiet, seemingly unremarkable man, he connected with just one of his students: Sal Prentiss, a lonely sixth grader who lives with his uncles on a desolate ranch in the hills. The two outcasts developed a tender, trusting friendship that brought each of them hope in the wake of tragedy. But it is Sal who finds Adam’s body, charred almost beyond recognition, half a mile from his uncles’ compound.

Nora Wheaton, the middle school’s social studies teacher, dreamed of a life far from Lovelock only to be dragged back on the eve of her college graduation to care for her disabled father, a man she loves but can’t forgive. She sensed in the new math teacher a kindred spirit--another soul bound to Lovelock by guilt and duty. After Adam’s death, she delves into his past for clues to who killed him and finds a dark history she understands all too well. But the truth about his murder may lie closer to home. For Sal Prentiss’s grief seems heavily shaded with fear, and Nora suspects he knows more than he’s telling about how his favorite teacher died. As she tries to earn the wary boy’s trust, she finds he holds not only the key to Adam’s murder, but an unexpected chance at the life she thought she’d lost.

Weaving together the last months of Adam’s life, Nora’s search for answers, and a young boy’s anguished moral reckoning, this unforgettable thriller brings a small American town to vivid life, filled with complex, flawed characters wrestling with the weight of the past, the promise of the future, and the bitter freedom that forgiveness can bring."


~~~What One Lucky Person Will Win~~~

  • One autographed hardcover edition of Heather Young's The Distant Dead. It has a protective mylar cover on the dust jacket, and has been gently read once.

~~~The Rules~~~
  1. To be entered in the drawing, send an email to kittlingbooks(at)gmail(dot)com.
  2. The subject line of your email must read Distant Dead Giveaway.
  3. The body of your email must have your name and mailing address.
  4. Send your entries to me by noon, Sunday, August 2, 2020.
  5. Due to the high cost of postage, this giveaway is open to US residents only.

~~~The Small Print~~~

Very Important: If your emails are missing any of the required information, i.e., the correct subject line and your name and mailing address, you will not be entered to win. How do you know if you've been entered? If you have not received an email from me within 24 hours which says, "Your entry has been received. Good Luck!" you'll know something went wrong. That's okay. Try again!



The winner will be notified by email, and the announcement will be made here on Kittling: Books on Monday, August 3, 2020. The book will go out in the mail the very next day.

Now it's time to fill up my inbox with entries!

12 comments:

  1. You always have really generous giveaways, Cathy! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a really great book, Kathy. I love the setting. This one's going on the TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  3. And, of course, I didn't notice I misspelled your name...sorry about that. Can't keep my Cathys, Kathys separate these days.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There were 35 kids in my 7th grade class. SEVEN of us were named K/Cathy. Sometimes I can't keep 'em straight either, Sam! One of my frequent commenters is named Kathy, and I have to admit that sometimes I feel as though I'm talking to myself! ;-)

      Delete
  4. Oh, talking to yourself? Yes, I had exactly the same problem in high school as you had in 7th grade. Someone would yell "Kathy" and five young women would turn around.
    Later, I knew another Kathy and she renamed herself Kate. I thought I would try that. One friend called me Kate and no one else did, so I went back to Kathy.
    But a few years ago, I found out that Caitlyn is the original Irish name and Katnleen is the English version. I though of renaming myself, but that didn't work out. So I'm Kathy.
    No one calls me Kathleen, except at doctors' offices.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm the fourth generation of woman in this family who didn't like her first name. Ida Myrtle went by Myrtle. Elsie Irene went by Irene. Irene Glenore went by Glenore. I wanted to go by my middle name, but it was already in heavy use. Anyway, I could see that the "renaming" myself would never work, so I became resigned to Cathy (which isn't short for anything).

      Delete
  5. Well, I did think of Kate and Katy and Kay and Kat. I would use Kat sometimes in emails but I have a family of friends who have a long Italian last name and they're known as the "Cats." So that's out.

    And I wanted to be Katherine but not Kathleen, but a friend with Irish heritage told me my name is nice. Actually, there are Irish ballads using my name so I'm resigned to it.

    I have met women from Ireland who are Kathleen with no nicknames, very strait-laced, blouse buttoned up to the neck types.

    My mother called me Katalina, Katya, Kathalina, etc., when she was in the mood. A friend called me Katya which I liked.

    The possibilities are endless.

    ReplyDelete
  6. My sister didn't like her middle name, "Jane," so she had it legally removed. I don't know why go to all that trouble.

    It is used commonly in England and Ireland, location of some of our ancestors.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment. I really appreciate it!